top of page

Breaking the Ice: My Visit to Alaska

Hello, my name is Sarah Adamson! I am a pursing film and media arts major, attending the University of Tampa. This is my reflection of an Alaskan trip.

I figured that if I wanted other people in photography club to post blogs about their adventures, it's kind of hypocritical if I do not (Side note: I use the word "don't" so much, that I forgot it was a contraction the other day.)

Anyways, I'm here to tell (and show) you, my dear reader, about my travels to Alaska. With my family, of course (because I'm a college student) I visited multiple places last May. We flew to Coeur d'Alene, Idaho to visit mi familia. From Idaho, we drove to Vancouver, British Columbia (MY FIRST TIME USING MY PASSPORT EVER!!!), and departed on the cruise ship. We went through the Misty Fjords, too!

The unfortunate thing about cruises, is that each port is only a day (or less), and one doesn't really get to fully enjoy the beauty of each city. According to my academic advisor, Tim Kennedy, the cities are ugly as sin, and the real beauty is outside of them. This was especially true for Ketchican, Alaska! LOL, I'm sorry Alaskans, I'll stop bashing.

I've never been to Canada or Alaska before then, and I'm extremely grateful for the experience. My father and mom #2 have a one-year-old baby boy named Paddy, which is why I was able to vacation with them (I was the babysitter). Being that the cruise's duration was about two weeks, its passengers were primarily elderly people; they all thought that I was a single mother every time I held Paddy. No, ya'll silly gooses, I'm just the sister!

Despite the nagging, overhearing arguments, and seasickness, I made good memories as well! I'm kind of bitter sometimes, but I'm trying to focus on the good! Examples of some good things are, you know... like BEING IN FREAKING ALASKA!

I was able to spend quality time with my father through hiking; I one-upped him with my superior youthfulness. I experienced seeing a pod of humpback whales, heard their high-pitched calls, their dinosaur-ish size humbled me. I managed to chuck around Sitka, Alaska (which was NOT where The Proposal was filmed, FYI,) my baby brother, go out to lunch, and meet an older man from Ireland (who also thought Paddy was my son.) I experienced using the restroom with a one-year-old, a stroller, a backpack, my jacket...I experienced chaos. I don't know how mothers do it, but YOU'RE DOING GOOD!!! I was able to go zip-lining, and eat at a whore-house in Skagway, Alaska with my dad. Skagway, Alaska also looks like a town straight out of the video game, Red Dead Redemption, by the way! As a family, we all went whale-watching and ate red salmon. We travelled to Denali National Park, and saw moose, elk, bears, and other wildlife. It was beautiful!

All-in-all, I was on the receiving end of some good, old-fashioned, family-bonding time! I didn't participate much with activities on the ship itself, besides rock-climb-race my dad (I won!) The television show, "The Office", was calling me. If you're ever in that side of the world for some reason, I'd suggest collecting patches and ironing/sewing them onto a nice jacket. Also, don't forget to give your family a ring to see how they're doing.

Take care, ya'll!

Sarah Adamson

bottom of page